Roadmap to Success: Check Point CCSA

Roadmap to Success is a series that helps learners understand certification pathways, career options associated with them, and the next steps beyond certification.
Organizations of all sizes are increasingly concerned about information security. The demand for IT security professionals is growing exponentially. This means that certifications in the security field are becoming more important. The Check Point Certified Security Analyst (CCSA), certification enables learners to set up, configure, manage, and maintain daily operations of the Check Point Security Gateway or Management Software Blades systems running on the GAiA operating platform. The CCSA certification is often associated with security engineer, senior network engineers, security analyst, and many other roles.
Check Point Certified Security Administrator CCSA (CCSA). This intermediate-level security certification ensures that students have the skills and knowledge to:
Install the security gateway in a distributed environment
Configure rules for Web and Gateway servers
Create a basic rule base in SmartDashboard, and assign permissions.
Schedule backups and seamless updates with minimal downtime;
Monitor and troubleshoot IPS traffic and other network traffic.

The CCSA consists of one exam that is covered by SPOTO.
Learn how to become a security expert with SPOTO’s Cybersecurity Training
Start trainingCheck Point CCSA GAiA 152-165.76
MicroNugget: Checkpoint R77 Features (this microNugget by Keith Barker focuses on features and updates for exam 156-215.77.

Although there are no prerequisites for the CCSA certification, learners must have a basic understanding of networking and experience with Windows Server and/or UNIX. They also need to have some experience with TCP/IP and internet. Before attempting the CCSA, learners should have at least one year of experience with Check Point products. We recommend that learners earn an entry-level security certificate before they attempt the CCSA.
Exam DetailsLearners who are interested in the CCSA start by creating a Check Point user account.
Exam #156-215.77Time allotted to exams: 100 minutesQuestion types are multiple choice; scenarioPassing Score: 70%. Registration: Pearson Vue. Cost: $200 (USD). Study guide: Check Point offers a free study guide that covers all exam topics
Guide to CCSA Study

RecertificationThe CCSA certificate is valid for two-years. Recertifying your certifications can be done by taking the latest version of the exam or passing a higher-level Check Point certification.
The Next StepThe CCSA is the first certification of Check Point. There are many opportunities to continue learning Check Point technologies. The next steps in the Check Point universe are:
Check Point Certified Security Expert (CCSE)
Check Point Managed Security Expert (CCMSE);
Check Point Certified Security Master (CCSM)

Some learners may wish to diversify their resumes and vitae by pursuing certifications other than Check Point products. SPOTO learners often pursue the following certifications:
CompTIA Security+ (composed of one exam: SY0-401);
CCNA Security (made of two exams: ICND1 & IINS);
Certified Ethical Hacker (composed of one exam: EC Council Certified Ethical Hacker v 8.0); /or
Security CISSP (made of one exam: (ISC]2 Security CISSP).

Career provides a helpful salary guide to help learners determine appropriate pay scales for job opportunities associated with the CCSA. lists a range between $43,600 to $123,822. The range may be too broad. For the highest-level salaries, learners should have professional experience and other certifications. CCSA certification holders are often qualified to perform the following roles: senior network engineer, security engineer, and spokesman.